RSS Feed

Parenting

Posted on

I currently read a blog by Kelle Hampton that is phenomenal. She has two daughters: Lainey is the oldest and Nella is the youngest. Nella has Down Syndrome. The blog she wrote about the birth of Nella was what made her a celebrity in the blog world. It was a beautiful story of love that she didn’t know she was capable of having. Now thousands of people read her blog every day. As a mom, I admire her very much. She will be the first to tell you that she doesn’t have it all together, but she has all she needs. We have very similar views on many things; the following paragraph is one of those things. She is a beautiful writer though and can express it so well. Here is an excerpt on parenting from her blog:

“My bottom line in parenting–in special needs, in friendship, in anything–is always this: Most of the time I don’t know what I’m doing, but I know how to spend time with my kids–how to have fun. This combination of time and attention, love and vivacious energy makes me feel like I know what I’m doing, and that confidence–whether it’s real or just a figment of my imagination– gradually grows until it cannot be denied; until I know with certainty that it’s working, that I have good experiences to fall back on, to lead me through the intimidating parts of the journey. Somewhere along the line, “I don’t know what I’m doing” becomes, “Look at us. We’re doing it.” I love that.”

I could not have said it better myself. Thank you, Kelle Hampton, for speaking on behalf of other Moms like me. Moms who think time and attention, energy and love are the most important things. Thank you for believing that instinct is important and that the answers won’t all be found in books or the latest research. Thank you for believing that it is perfectly okay to not know all the answers, and to be okay with knowing you don’t know all the answers.

I can admit that I don’t know all the answers, and I am perfectly okay with that.

3 responses »

  1. I already love this blog!! The only complaint I have is that 1. You did not inform me of it and 2. It is not on blogspot. Therefore I have to go back and forth between websites!! Oh well, I look forward to reading it!

    Reply
    • Sorry Ashley! You know you can subscribe to this and you will get it via email? When you type a comment, there is a box below the comment box that says “Notify me of new posts via email” Select it and you will get every one of my posts in your inbox!

      Dave’s family has a blogger account that we all share and have a family blog. I definitely prefer wordpress! However, I get yours on my google reader because that is an option that this site doesnt offer (that I know of). Thanks for making the sacrifice to come all the way over here 🙂

      Reply
  2. Carol Mosier

    Ok. I love your blog. You are such a beautiful person and I am so glad you are my grandaughter!!!!!! I am looking forward to each and every entry you write. You are so talented and are using the talents God has given you. You are an inspiration to me and I love you very much. What a beautiful mother you are, even if you don’t think you have it all together. Believe me, you do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

