RSS Feed

Predictions

Posted on

5 years ago …
I was 19 years old. I had just graduated high school and knew I would be off to college in the fall.

I did things with my life like cover the whole driveway with chalk. I did not do things like washing cloth diapers, paying a mortgage and paying for my own gas for my car.

I knew I would marry David in the next couple of years.

 

I was going to be a secretary like my Mom when I got my degree.

 

I had just started working for an eye doctor in town and I was enjoying the relaxing summer.

 

5 years ago …
I saw myself being not exactly where I am today. I did see us living in a house in Hutch, but I also thought maybe we would rent for a while instead of buying. I had no idea we would have 2 spoiled kitty cats and I didn’t see any kids in our lives just yet.


 I saw us both with college degrees, working full time jobs. I never imagined I would do my life “backwards” according to the world.


 

5 years from now …
I see myself still living in this house, Adelynn will be 6 and probably starting the 1st grade.

We will have been married 8 years by then.

I see Dave, Adelynn, Bruce, Bella and myself in our house and maybe another kid or two also. I see us having started the Bible Study we really would like to start and us still being happy and feeling settled in our lives. I see myself done with HCC by that point and on to KSU (Online).

I see many projects being completed that we don’t have time/money for right now.

I like all those ideas, so I would like to see that pan out. But what did I know last time I made that 5 year prediction? If you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans.

5 responses »

  1. Carol Mosier

    The one thing we can plan on for certain is that God is in control and knows exactly what the next 5 years hold. He has a beautiful plan for your life. Whether it be one child or 5 children, a college degree, a house complete as you would like it, He knows and he will always love you and hold you in the palm of His hand. You are a beautiful woman and a wonderful wife and mother and so very very talented. Our plans do make God laugh I am sure!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. Wow, it is amazing what 5 years will bring about and how different it can be from what you imagine. Of course, as much as I loved you 5 years ago, I love even more the person you have become and the wonderful mom you are to my little niece. I think everyone wants you to believe that there is a “right” way or order of doing things, but we really each have our very own methods and that’s OK!

    Reply
  3. You always know the right things to say, Mary! I love you!

    Reply
  4. This post just makes me laugh as well. I would never guess when I graduated highschool I would be where I am or have done the things I have either. I love this post because as I’m trying to decide what to do next after school it reminds me that it isn’t up to me. I just need to pray and ask God where I should go next! Thank you so much for this post!

    Reply
    • Welcome, love! Glad you ran across it! God will bring you what you’re supposed to do, just like He did when He sent you overseas!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

