RSS Feed

Momma Happiness

Posted on

Being a Mom is not an easy job. Was that a newsflash to anyone? Didn’t think so. Whether you are a Full Time Working Mom, a Single Mom, a Stay at Home Mom, a Student Mom, or somewhere in between, you will agree that it’s a tough job. But there’s nothing that is more rewarding, and it’s worth the hard work.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that it’s all difficult raising a child, because I can’t think of anything I love more. BUT there are days that are long. Sometimes that means you had a long day at work followed by lots to do at home, or a long day at home where nothing was accomplished. Everyone has days like that, even if you are not a parent.

We owe it to our kids to be the best parents we can be, even when WE are the ones having the bad day. It’s not their fault our day was bad. (Okay, sometimes they contribute to it, but go with me here.)

Sometimes there are things you can do to help your Happiness Meter go up. (Yes, I just said that.)

Here are some of my suggestions:

  • Have a nice drink in the morning or evening or both. Whether that be a hot drink, cold drink or stiff drink, it’s up to you. Whether you brew tea in your kitchen or make a run to Metro, just have a drink that can help you remain calm or wake you up, or relax you, whatever you need most.
  • Get out of the house! Please! Go to a Mom’s group to your own Mom’s house, call a friend to meet for coffee, or meet a friend at the park to get in some play time and let your child release some energy.
  • Go for a drive. Even if you take your kids. Blast the music through the front speakers and sing your little heart out. In my case, my child dances and claps along in the back seat. My CD of choice is Maroon 5, because I know Adelynn will clap be entertained by them. But even if your kids are big enough to tell you that you suck at singing, it’s okay! Make a joyful noise, right?
  • Do something nice for the way you look. Do you usually rock sweat pants and a pony tail? Give the kids a project and curl your hair or paint your nails. Even with the recession, people still spend money to look good. Some might say it is vanity, but I think it’s okay to do what makes you happy if that’s your type of thing.
  • If you ever feel like yelling at your child, take a deep breath and hug them instead. You know the days when you get nothing accomplished because they are just right under your feet every second?? Give them a hug and a few minutes of your time, then the needs of both parties will be met AND you won’t do anything you regret!
  • Read a new book. Mystery, Romance, Child Development, Devotional, your choice. Let your imagination run or help your heart grow.
  • Give yourself a mental do-over if your morning is rough. If things are messy and nothing is going right. Take a breath and start over. Say a quick prayer and change your attitude.
  • Lower your expectations. If your house is a mess, your kids are a mess, and you are a mess, just remember there is always tomorrow. The day is not a lost cause if it’s not clean. In my home, a messy house is a good thing. It means I spent my time playing with my kid and not necessarily keeping it spotless. I always tell Dave that I got more important things accomplished if the house is messy.
  • Go for a walk. It’s good for everyone.
  • Have you ever felt like you have said “no” a million times in one day? On those days, you should tell your child you love them 3 million times and give them 3 million kisses.

What do you do to help your Happiness Meter go up?

 DSC_3054

2 responses »

  1. I really needed this today, thank-you. Had a tough family thing happen today and it’s been a slow day as I’m shooken up. I think I’m going to go for a walk after my soup. I know I’ve needed to just get outside, but now I’ve been given more inspiration!

    Also, with everything happening, somehow prayer didn’t come into my mind (how did that happen?!). You’ve inspired me to have a big long prayer while Mac and I go for a walk.

    Reply
  2. Yay!!! I hadn’t gotten to read you blog for a bit and it was super inspiring to see this particular happiness come popping out of you. It’s inspiring to hear other people’s inspiration! Love you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

