RSS Feed

Thursday Recipe – Oct 13

Posted on

Crockpot Sweet Potato Chili

Yes,I know I take ugly food pictures, but I promise it tastes much better than it looks! It’s much more than tomatoes and sweet potatoes. I know that is what it looks like. It’s SMOKY and SWEET and PERFECT for Fall.

2 Sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 yellow onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 can of kidney beans drained and rinsed
1 red bell pepper, chopped  (we omitted)
1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes
1 tbs chili powder
1 tbs paprika
1/2 tsp salt (I didn’t use any)
1 cup of H20
1/2 cup of OJ (or water if you don’t have OJ)

Directions: Dice, chop, or mince your ingredients and combine in the crock pot. Stir together, cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

Dave put sharp cheddar and cinnamon in his, I put sour cream in mine. It would probably taste really good with some pork left overs as well.

2 responses »

  1. May have to try this one on for size…

    Reply
  2. Good deal! I also realized it is vegetarian too, would be a good dish if you have vegetarian friends over!
    Let me know how you like it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

