RSS Feed

Cassi’s Taco Soup

Posted on

Cassi’s Taco Soup

The other night I was in the mood for soup and our kitchen desperately needs us to go grocery shopping. I am really not much for Taco Soup because I prefer my Mexican food in solid form. However, I knew if I was going to make soup, I had to use what I had, and that meant it was going to be a Mexican soup.  That was worth it to me to have soup, so I started throwing things together in a pot as Adelynn brought cans over to me from the pantry.

DSC_3641

I have to say I was pretty confident in my abilities because, for one reason, I didn’t think I could mess up Mexican soup. Also because we have never, ever had an experimental recipe go wrong. Seriously! Every experiment we have had has turned to food-gold.

Dave ate so much of it I’m surprised he didn’t get sick! He also “claimed” the leftovers.

DSC_3647

Ingredients

3 cups frozen corn, or 3 cups regular corn + ¼ cup water

Taco Seasoning to taste

One can of black beans

2 cans rotel tomatoes with green chilis (or regular diced tomatoes based on how spicy you want it, or one of each)

Half cup of water

1 lb of hamburger

12 oz sour cream (this is soup so do what you want. Anywhere from 8-16 oz would be enough)

½ block of velveeta – the Mexican kind

Combine corn, taco seasoning, beans, tomatoes, and water and heat in large pot.

Meanwhile, cook 1 lb hamburger, drain and mix in to corn mixture. Turn heat to medium. Mix in sour cream to taste and ½ block of Mexican Velveeta cheese.

3 responses »

  1. Carol Mosier

    I really really like my taco soup, but….I’m going to try this. It is similar to mine but just a tad different. You told me how good it was so I’m holding you to it! LOL!!! LOVE YOU!

    Reply
  2. Sounds so yummy and it’s getting to be soup weather! I think we’ll have this tonight?
    Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply
  3. im not a blogger so i don’t know where im supposed to respond to comments, there or here 🙂 oooh well , i figure you’ll see it here! idk how much of a mommy blog it’ll end up being…i know it won’t be anything like yours! but i thought it’d be fun to try it out anyways.. we’ll see where it takes me! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

