RSS Feed

“Nicholas! You’re the strongest boy in the world!”

Posted on

If you know me at all, you know who my favorite actor is. His name is Nick Swardson and he is the funniest guy on the planet. He’s kind of an acquired taste, so not everyone thinks he is funny. Even I don’t think he is funny 100% of the time. Like, I feel I know him so well that I’m comfortable rolling my eyes at him. But he is still my favorite.

I got to know him because I was sick at home one day in 7th grade – 2001. I just happened to be watching Comedy Central and he came on and did stand up. I laughed so hard, even though my sides already hurt. His show had been airing for a year and I just happened to catch it.

As time went on, I never heard or saw him again but I remembered his name. (He was seriously that funny!) Then when the movie Grandma’s Boy came out, in 2006, (5 whole years later, after a one time incident) I instantly recognized him.

Then later that year, Benchwarmers came out. He played the kid who was afraid of the sun.

 

He’s also pretty famous as Terry from the show Reno 911

He was also in Click, I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry, Blades of Glory, You Don’t Mess With The Zohan, and Jack & Jill. He’s good friends with Adam Sandler, so basically any Happy Madison production he is in. His biggest (and funniest) role was in Just Go With It.

Are you wondering yet why I am telling you so much about this guy? Well, I have an exciting story that I should have posted long ago.

And here it is:

Summer of 2010, I was working at an investment company in Manhattan. We had a client (Roger) whose father passed away and we did a lot of work with him directly since he was to inherit most of his father’s estate. He works on sets in Hollywood. We developed a good relationship as far as clients go. Roger told me that he worked on the set of You Don’t Mess With The Zohan. I immediately asked him if he knew Nick Swardson. He said he did and how nice he was, etc. After that, we worked closely for a few months and then didn’t hear much of each other again.

Fast forward to August 2011. I get an email from my former supervisor at the investment company in Manhattan. She says she is sending me something in the mail from Roger. I was surprised since I hadn’t spoken to him in a year, and never outside of work. This is what was in there:

DSC_2728 

WHAT?!?! For me?!?! From who?!?! WHAT?!?!

When I opened it, I am pretty sure I skipped to my phone to tell Dave what I got. Roger included a note that said he had the opportunity to talk to Nick during this particular scene. He remembered me – from a business encounter a whole year earlier – and he told Nick all about me. Nick didn’t have any photos on hand, so he just took what he had and signed it for me! Who knew that 10 years after seeing his comedy special, there would be his autograph in my little hands?!

That’s my little exciting story that I wanted to share with you all this morning. Smile Hope you have something exciting happen to you today – something that makes you skip!

2 responses »

  1. That’s awesome!! That sort of happened to me back in the summer of 2006 when I was a waitress at Prairie Dunes in Hutch. Bill Murray was there with his brother for the out-of-town golf tournament. I ended up getting to wait on him and his table for the whole 3 days!! He called me “Shorty”, talked with me about tea, golf, and misc. other things that were his classic dry humor (that I LOVE), and tipped me $100!!! I used the money towards Ben’s wedding ring since it’s his favorite actor. It was so awesome and I will never forget that! I definitely skipped afterwards 🙂

    Reply
  2. I remember when my Dad played in that golf tourney … or he was out there during that time or something. He is out there all the time anyway, so who knows? 🙂 He said he saw Bill Murray and they just said “hi” to each other as they walked past. That’s so cool that he even gave you a cute little nickname!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

