RSS Feed

The honest post

Posted on

 

I need to be honest about this blog. After all, that is what I have pledged to be from the beginning – completely honest.

One thing I know about blogging is that as a blogger, you have to love it. You have to feel passion about each post you make. If you are posting every day, unless you really, truly have a love for it, ultimately, you will get burnt out.

That is happening to me. I know how I feel about the sites I visit every day – I know they will have something new and enjoyable for me. I thought it would be so cool to give people something to look forward to every morning. I hoped I could be that little bright spot in someone’s day. I thought I could keep up with writing 4 days a week. And truthfully, for a while, I could.

I think a lot of bloggers are fairly transparent. I am one of those. I can’t help it. I am that way in real life. I do not have a fake bone in my body. If I am mad at you, you know it. If I don’t like you, (that’s unlikely) you know it. (But I’m not mean, I have manners. The last thing I would ever want to do is hurt someone’s feelings. That would hurt me just as much!! – For example, if you make nasty food, I won’t tell you it is nasty, I just won’t tell you that I loved it. Or if you wear something ugly, I won’t tell you it’s ugly, I just won’t complement you on your sweater. Well, unless you ask me. Then I will tell you the truth. Get it? But I still won’t be mean.) Anyway! Since I wear my heart on my sleeve, you could probably clearly see in the last couple of weeks that my heart wasn’t in many of the things I was saying. It was typed out of guilt. Guilt that I knew I owed the world a post in the morning.

I have a cousin who blogs 5 days a week, faithfully. That is her thing. I never get bored by her posts and she never seems bored in writing them. I have a sister in law who blogs once a week. I have a friend who goes in spurts, she blogs 3 or 4 consecutive days and then there is silence for a little while. 

The blogger I admire the most – by far – is Kelle Hampton. Not only are her pictures breathtaking and her words penetrating, but she truly loves what she is doing, and it shows. She blogs every 1-3 days. Every post of hers is stunning, it is like she spends all her in-between time, working on the next entry. I aspire to share my life in the beautiful way she shares hers.

So with all that said, I am going to continue in my honest ambition. I am going to cut back on the blogging. I will no longer post every day, just to have a post. I am going to post every time I have something to say. And I promise to post when I have something I want to talk about.

I think that is about all I can say about it. I would say that I will see you back here tomorrow… but I might not… unless I have something to say… we will see!

I might just enjoy keeping you on your toes! Smile

Thanks to all the faithful readers out there! Your comments mean so much to me. If you are going to be alone this Thanksgiving and you live near me, please let me know!!! We will have plenty of food and I don’t want anyone to be lonely over Thanksgiving!

Thank you all for your love and support! If I don’t talk to you sooner, I hope you all have a joyful Thanksgiving!!!

PS: The Hairbows page has been updated. Check it out!

8 responses »

  1. 3 or 4 days in a row, then nothing, sounds like my pattern! 🙂 I have good intentions, there just isn’t enough hours in the day.

    I ALWAYS enjoy reading your posts, Cassi. But I understand; you shouldn’t be doing it if you aren’t enjoying it! I will look forward to reading the ones you DO post!

    Reply
  2. Rita Eldridge

    I also enjoy reading your posts, but understand that you can’t write every day. It will be more meaningful for you — and your readers — if you write when something is on your heart. I will continue to read as you write!

    Reply
  3. I love your blog, but I totally understand were you are coming from. I don’t know if you have noticed lately, but I very rarely blog anymore. I just don’t have the passion for it like I used to (and I’m sure it is showing through in the blogs that I do write). I have gone to just posting when I feel like writing AND have something I want to say.

    I look forward to your next installment, whenever that will be 🙂

    (Oh, and our always planned but never successful dinner/playdate! Hope you are feeling better by the way!)

    Michele

    Reply
    • I am still very much looking forward to our dinner/playdate! I got rid of it and gave it to Dave 😦
      But he is feeling better now too!

      Reply
  4. Thanks, Cassi! I always love your blog posts and am constantly checking in for a new one, but don’t ever expect one. It will be a nice surprise the next time I pop by to find a new one!!! Lots of love and happiness to you, David and Adelynn for Thanksgiving!!!!!

    Reply
  5. I understand how you feel! As you can probably tell, I go long periods of time without anything happening that I think anyone would want to read about. I love your blog, and I am excited that you are taking the time away it takes to love it! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Cassi… I totally understand!!! I have been AWFUL with my blog. But, for me, it is more because I have a tendency to procrastinate and I think of so many things I could write about I get overwhelmed and keep putting it off till later. Lame, I know. Something I need to work on. I too have been feeling guilty about not writing consistently. I need to find a good time that doesn’t take away from Mathias or the other 758 things I want/could/should/need to do. Anyway, thanks for sharing and I think it’s GREAT that you know and do what you need to do!

    Reply
  7. Thank you all so much for your understanding and your faithful readership!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

