RSS Feed

How Valentines has changed

Posted on
How Valentines has changed

Last night, Dave’s parents came over for dinner. They played with Adelynn in the basement while we washed and dried dishes together. Then we had a massive leak under the sink that sprayed all over the laundry room (laundry room is in the basement, directly below the kitchen) Dave went to the hardware store to pick up parts and spent the evening fixing everything, and I loaded the washing machine with laundry that got dripped on and will thoroughly clean the laundry room pretty soon.

As I stood at the sink, washing dishes, I reflected on the evening. I stood side-by-side with my love, washing and drying dishes. When did Valentines turn from that mushy-gushy, ooey-gooey, romantic dinner, chocolate, flowers, gift thing, into fixing the leaks, doing dishes and laundry? We talked about that as we did dishes. We talked about the Valentines dates of yesteryear. The anticipation, the trips to eat, the movies, etc. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like we never do anything fun anymore.

But when did all this change? Well, besides becoming a family. It was when we realized that there is so much more to love than “stuff”. Love isn’t flowers and candy and special food. Sure, all that is really nice to do sometimes, and there’s not a single thing wrong with it. It is important to keep the romance alive, but the romance doesn’t make the marriage.

How many couples spend their Valentines evening eating homemade food with their in-laws, cleaning up messes, and still have as good of a time as they would have if they were out at a first class restaurant and five star show? I’ve said it time and again (usually when debating a marriage battle on love vs money) but, I would much rather live in a cardboard box and eat Ramen noodles with Dave, than live the high life with someone I’m not madly in love with.

I guess my cheesy little point is that it truly doesn’t matter how you spend time with the one you love, as long as you love spending time together.

Happy Valentines!

Photos from Valentines Past. 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011.

7 responses »

  1. So true, love your insight!

    Reply
  2. Amen! And AMEN! I always tell Dale, I’d rather have real with you, then happily ever after with anyone else!
    Sounds like you had a wonderful Valentines day! We were in the kitchen until after 10 making (reallly frustrating) Cookies for Tylans bday today, we aren’t going out to eat or out of town for a romantic getaway this weekend, but between his card and help in the kitchen last night……I’ve never felt more cherished and loved. “real” is a good place to be! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I really like what you said, Tonya. “I’d rather have real with you, than happily ever after with anyone else.”

      You’re right that it doesn’t matter what you’re doing as long as you’re with the one you love!

      Reply
  3. Ben and I have talked about this too. How Valentine’s, especially, is so commercialized and all about expectations. We had a great time making homemade pizza and drinking wine while watching a movie. Like you said, all that “fun” stuff is great, but not so great when it is expected. I love when it’s more whimsical! But, maybe I’m just silly that way πŸ™‚ I love living “real” with my hunny, but I would also venture to label it “happily ever after” as well! Glad you guys are finding the romance in your leaky faucets and dirty dishes! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I like that you find the romance in an evening in with homemade pizza!

      It’s great that you can label “real” as one in the same with “happily ever after”! Girl after my own heart πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Amen! Life can be special without any planning or anticipation. Just a beautiful memory shared and captured for a lifetime.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: The Mother Load of Mommy Affirmation–ha! Get it? | LAUGHTER & LATTES

Leave a Reply

