RSS Feed

I haven’t used shampoo or conditioner in a week.

Posted on

Pretty gross, right? I understand if you see me at the store and you decide to duck into the next aisle. But maybe after I tell you my secret, you might actually come up and touch my hair. And it’s okay if you do.

Would you like to see what my hair looks like? Brace yourself…

photo (2)photo (4)
(the only thing gross in that picture is hairspray!)photo (5)

The secret?

Baking soda shampoo and vinegar conditioner.

Why didn’t I think of this before?? I use this combination to naturally strip the detergent build up in my cloth diapers. Shampoo is similar to detergent…

OF COURSE!

I have had several people ask me if I colored my hair recently. Nope. I just stripped away all of the build-up.

My friend Kate told me about this and I have been doing it over a week now – which means I should still be in the “transition” phase I suppose, but luckily, the first batch I made had the balance right for my hair.

This blogger has been “poo-free” for 2 years!! She has more knowledge than I do on the subject but stay with me. I will answer some general questions.

What’s the recipe? This recipe worked for me.

SLOWLY mix this in small plastic container:

  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 3 cups of warm water
  • 1/2 cup vinegar (can also be made without vinegar)

Half of this amount lasted me for 2 washes, but I dropped it and lost a lot of the mixture. I would think you could get about 6 washes out of this recipe depending how much you use each wash.

I put 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar in 1 cup of water and I use it as my conditioner.

How do you store it? I store my “shampoo” in an old liquid creamer container and “conditioner” a squirt bottle. I like the squirt bottle method. I need to trade them out next time I make them, actually.

Doesn’t your hair smell disgusting?? I put citrus rinds in some vinegar and let it soak for a couple of weeks. That is the vinegar I used in mine. I thought it might help the smell a little bit better but I still cannot smell a thing!! My hair just smells like clean hair!

It doesn’t lather does it? How do you wash your hair with no lather? It fizzes some. I shake it each time. I really concentrate on my scalp with the baking soda and use the vinegar more throughout my hair. I really should make one batch at a time so I can use warm water. The shock of cold water takes a little bit to get used to.

What is the transition time you were talking about? She suggests giving yourself 2-4 weeks of transition time. That gives you the opportunity to figure out the balance you like. If your hair is greasy after washing, add more baking soda. If it is dry, add more vinegar and play with it until you figure out your combination.

I think I can lose the shampoo, but I REALLY like my conditioner. If you aren’t quite ready to get rid of the conditioner, add 1/2 cup of baking soda to 1 cup of your favorite conditioner and let it sit with a shower cap for 15-20 minutes and rinse.

Do you miss your shampoo/conditioner? The only thing I miss is that my conditioner did a great job of detangling my hair. It’s also so satisfying to lather up your shampoo. However, I don’t miss that as much as I thought I would. I haven’t even really thought about it since my hair is so stinking clean!! My hair literally squeaks when I comb it while wet!!

I didn’t even mention the cost savings!! WOW. But I will let you do the math on that one. Vinegar and baking soda are ridiculously cheap, am I right? Especially if you buy in the 15 lb bags from Sam’s.

For those of you who have read all this way and who don’t have a weird, disgusted look on your face, thank you 🙂

If you choose to try it, let me know!! And good luck!!!

2 responses »

  1. I told you it was not as gross as it sounds!! I converted my mom too, but she is missing the detangling of her conditioner. I do spray on some leave in sometimes if mine is tough to get through afterwards.

    Reply
    • I miss that too. I need to get some detangling spray 😛 I cut out a kid coupon the other day for detangler. I need it for myself 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

