RSS Feed

Bubble Burlap Wreath Tutorial

Posted on

I had several requests for this tutorial and I am just finally getting around to posting it! So… I know this is a Fall thing. I like to extend Fall as long as I possibly can. I feel like Christmas comes earlier every year. I think it does… but I think it’s more extreme for people like me who could have Fall all year long. However, I believe you could do the red/brown/burlap thing with Christmas pizazz for the Christmas season.

DSC_3797

Here’s what you need:
a foam wreath. Mine is 14” I believe.
depending on the size of wreath you choose, you will need more or less fabric. For a 14” wreath, you need about 3 yards of fabric. If you have a 10” wreath, 1.75 yards should do it. It depends how thick you place the bubbles. Mine were pretty thick.
large headed pins. grab a box of at least 100. DSC_3799

Here’s how you do it. (I should have re-painted my nails first. Just ignore that part!)

First, you cut a 4” x 4” square of burlap.

photo (98)

Second, fold the square in half to form a triangle.

photo (99)

Third, take the corner on your right and pull it around to meet the other corners.
photo (100)

Last, do the same with the left corner, but place it in the back.photo100

Now you have your little “bubble”. Make sure your pin goes through all 4 layers of “bubble” so it stays in place. Pin them on the wreath! Put them side by side so that when you place one on, it covers the pin from the last one you pinned. I ended up making vertical lines with the bubbles, and going around the circle. It took me close to 6 hours to do this one. But mine is bigger than some and the bubbles are thicker. I also didn’t get them tight enough the first time, so I had to do most of it over again once I figured that out. By the time I came around the circle to them, they were falling out. Mine also didn’t fit in between my doors because it was too thick. That’s something to consider when you make yours!

When I added all the extra pumpkins, I learned quickly that this type of wreath cannot support much weight. I wrapped brown tulle around the bottom part, so I could add the Fall foof. Once the tulle was what was supporting the pumpkins, that made all the difference. It has held up outside with no problem! (However, when weather is windy/rainy, I bring it inside.)

GOOD LUCK! Let me know if you need tips! Or if you want me to make one for you, let me know that too SmileDSC_3805

Leave a Reply

