RSS Feed

Oh, Adelynn

Posted on

“My tummy still hurts because I need another brownie.”

______________________________

Adelynn didn’t want to go to bed so she’s piddling around. She normally gets 5 books at bedtime but sometimes she loses some if she’s not listening. “Adelynn, do we need to take away a book?” Dave asks. “No, I need a time out.” Smart. Extending even more time. Very smart.

______________________________

I drop our board games all over the place in the coat closet. “Ugghhh.” Adelynn hears me. “Mommy, what happen to you?” “I made a mess. I dropped everything.” I answered. “You drop everything? Here, Mommy.” She hands me a broom.

______________________________

We pull our Charlie Brown tree out of the Christmas decorations. “That’s Snoopy Brown’s tree!” she exclaims.

______________________________

Dave has no idea that I can hear this conversation because he thinks I am in the bathroom. Adelynn’s toy says “My Mom is the best!” Dave asks “Adelynn, is your Mom the best?” “Yeah!” She yells. “Yeah, she is.” Dave says. Be still my soul. I love that man.

______________________________

Adelynn gets peanut butter on her grape. She heads towards the bathroom. “I have to wash my blueberry. Be right back.”

______________________________

I hand Adelynn her little metal bee hair clip. She studies it and suddenly says “Oh! Mommy my bee just sting me a little bit!” She was such a good little actress.

______________________________

Adelynn comes to me from her room saying she hit her head on something. I kiss it. She goes back in and comes back out. “Mommy I hit my head again.” I kiss it again. “You hit your head again? Ouch.” “Yeah, I have lots of owies on my head!”

______________________________

I take Adelynn’s temperature and I’m thinking that the thermometer is broken so I take my own. When it beeps, she pulls it out from under my arm and reads it (upside down). “What does it say?” I ask. “Two and a half.” She answers.

______________________________

Adelynn stops in the middle of dinner and looks at me. “Thank you for making my supper, Mommy.” My heart melted into a giant puddle in my chest.

______________________________

We drive by McDonald’s while we are deciding where to eat dinner. “Mommy, I want to eat there.” she states. “At McDonald’s?” “Yeah! Old MacDonald!” (We did not eat there) Then on the way home she sang “E-I-E-I-O” over and over…

______________________________

We see a waitress with her hair up in half pigtails. They are sticking up like alien antennas. “Mommy look at her ears!”

______________________________

I gave Adelynn’s bear a check up. “Thank you Dr. Mommy.”

______________________________

We are at the grocery store. I hand her some cream cheese. “Here’s cream cheese.” “Ice cream cheese?!” Life was so amazing to her for a minute.

______________________________

We are brushing our teeth in the morning. “Mommy I going to brush your teeth too!” She says. “That’s fine. How about we brush our own teeth first and then we can brush each other’s?” “Okay, Mommy.” So we brush, then she prepares to brush mine. “Mommy I going to take care of you!” she announces. After I’m done, she tells me to spit, then offers me water in her hand for me to rinse with. I oblige. Such a sweet girl. Keep it up, kid. I’m going to need your help someday.

______________________________

Dave and I are having a conversation. Adelynn interrupts “Mommy! Bella is a cute name!” I am glad she likes our cat’s name.

______________________________

Dave squirts ketchup out of an almost empty bottle. It makes that farting noise. Adelynn gets a really innocent look on her face and backs away from the ketchup.

One response »

  1. what a treasure

    Reply

Leave a Reply

