RSS Feed

Fly

Posted on

Yesterday I was chasing Adelynn around the house. No, it wasn’t a “Come back here!” chase, it was a “Let’s pretend we are flying around the house” chase. A much better kind of chase. She had her butterfly wings on and we chased each other, laughed, felt ridiculous, giggled, tripped a couple of times, had tickle attacks, caught our breath, changed directions, jumped out to yell “boo!”, took a bathroom detour and watched out for walls and cats. We have one of those houses with an open floor plan that was created with the intent to invite children (and adults) to run in circles.

Everything was great until Adelynn informed me that I was now the monster and my ferocious loud RAWR startled Ava to tears – our time ended so we could console her.

Adelynn was running, flapping her arm-wings (while wearing wings) and looking back at me every few steps to make sure I was right there. I have to be honest, while we made our first few laps, I was pretty unenthusiastic. It was easier to walk and flap half heartedly while noticing all of the things I was passing by that needed to be accomplished.

“Oh, I wonder if I can grab that from the table and take a detour to Ava’s room to put it back where it belongs.”

“I wonder what other activity I can suggest so we can stop this.”

“Ugh, I am sweaty. Did I put on deodorant today?”

And then something just kind of hit me during one of her smiles.
This is her childhood. Not mine. This is how she finds joy. And I want to stop giving her joy because I have other things to do that I don’t even find joy in?

No.

Not today.

At one point I told her I was tired. She just responded with the perfect smile and perfect answer: “Fly!”
Well of course. That’s when my pace picked up, my smile became sincere, my wet flaps became more wholehearted, and my passion increased.

That’s how our Heavenly Father feels about us, the way Adelynn was to me. She was showing me Jesus and she didn’t even know it. He tells us to keep going even when it is hard, even when we aren’t happy and when we have other things we would rather be doing. Because the end result is SO SO worth it. Things we would rather be doing than talking to Him, listening to Him, serving others, digging into His Word, and these other things are much less important and much less fulfilling than obeying.

Really, it’s easier to walk, but it’s more rewarding to fly.

Today I will run around and flap my arms with enthusiasm and joy. I will serve others with a full heart, I will hear that voice that tells me I am doing the right things. And I will see that beautiful smile turning around to look at me to make sure I am still loving it as much as she is.

And I am.

photo (9)

2 responses »

  1. Rita Eldridge

    What a great analogy. You are learning from each other. You make a good mother/daughter team!

    “Settle down cobwebs, dust go to sleep. I’m rocking my baby, and babies don’t keep!” You and Dave both are always so good about spending quality time with your daughters. You’re absolutely right — these years are so precious and they will be gone before you know it.

    Reply
  2. This was a Fabulous blog post! I liked the tie in to your realization too. Fly, girls! And enjoy one or two laps for me!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

