RSS Feed

Oh, Adelynn

Posted on

We are having a time getting her leggings on. She finally cooperates and we get a leg all the way in. “Good job, Mommy! You did it! Yay!” She claps for me.
______________________________

She’s playing in the rain.
“Dad, God made the rain.”
“Yes He did.” Dave responds.
”I like God.”
______________________________

On this particular day, the talking was nonstop. She asked “Mommy are you going to start Ava’s music?” And when I didn’t respond in half a second she repeated the question. Then she repeated it a third time. I needed a moment of silence. I turned to her, bent down, cupped her face in my hands, and, closing my eyes, said “Shhhh…” I stood back up, took a breath and she whispered “Mommy are you going to start Ava’s music?”
I had to laugh at that one.
______________________________

Adelynn was playing with her Tinkerbell doll. I overhear her saying “I’ll get you my pretty!” I have no idea where she learned this.
“Who taught you that?” I ask.
“I learned it at school. My teacher taught me.” … she doesn’t go to school.
______________________________

Adelynn pretends to be a dog. She actually licks my face.
“Adelynn! Ew!”  I’m laughing and wiping my face.
”Mommy the doggy likes you!”
Gee thanks.
______________________________

Adelynn was being difficult. I told my Grandma that I was going to sell her to the circus. She heard me. “I’m going to the circus?! Yippee!”
“No, honey. We aren’t going to the circus.” Then a little bit later in the car she tells Ava “Ava we are going to the circus!”
Ugh. Nevermind.
______________________________

Adelynn has her wings on and is flapping away. “Mom! I’m butterfly-ing!”
______________________________

She shows me an owie and says “Mommy you can kiss it if you want to.” So I kiss it. “No it doesn’t hurt right now.”
I didn’t think they were so indecisive until the teenage years.
______________________________

We are outside getting ready to leave. Adelynn looks at her shadow. “Adelynn it is time to go. Please come get in the car.” I tell her.
”Aw but then my shadow will be lonely!”
She hangs her head.
______________________________

Adelynn comes out of the bathroom with wet hair. “Uh… Dare I ask why your hair is wet?”
“Oh, because I stuck it in the toilet!”
Dave and I sideways glance at each other.
She laughs really hard. “Mommy is that funny??”
______________________________

Leave a Reply

