RSS Feed

Do what you love, love what you do.

Posted on

I’m going to start this one off with a super duper scientific diagram I made. It will tell you if you should read my post today.

Publication22

So, one of your answers must have been “No”… or you’re just curious about this post today, whatever your reason for staying to read, I’m happy that you are!

I grew up listening to Steven Curtis Chapman’s music. He has a song called “Do Everything” and some of the lyrics resonate with me. The song starts like this:

You’re picking up toys on the living room floor for the 15th time today
Matching up socks
Sweeping up lost cheerios that got away
You put a baby on your hip
Color on your lips and head out the door
While I may not know you,
I bet I know
You wonder sometimes, does it matter at all?

That particular verse of the song describes me because my job is to be a Mom.

I jumped into the parenting thing with both feet because Adelynn came to us on God’s time. We lived away from our family and I didn’t know where to turn to learn it all. So I got my information, advice and ideas from parenting books, the internet or asking other Moms online. Now, those can be good ways to learn things about every day life, like sleep schedules and remedies for stuffy noses. Plus, talking to fellow believing Moms is really important. Relationships and friendships are Biblical. But ultimately, you want to raise your child to know Jesus, because that’s the big picture. That’s the point. Where are the resources for that?! Your Christian friends can’t be there with you every minute to put a hand on your shoulder when you want to scream. Thankfully, there’s the Ultimate Textbook of Life and that book will tell you who you are as a woman, wife, mother and as a child of God. (Check out Proverbs 31) Wow. Heavy stuff sometimes. We have a big job, but thankfully there are instructions right there.

I used to work in finance. Know what I learned? I learned that it was not what I am made for. I learned a lot about investing, I treated the customers very well and enjoyed my coworkers. God called me to stay home after that and He didn’t call me in the way I expected Him to. But that’s okay. Because of that, I learned to listen better when He speaks and ultimately, obedience brings blessing. I am ecstatic about the double blessing I care for every day. I look back at that time in our lives where Dave supported our family on his part time job at the college and we still made it through every month without getting into any debt. I know it was only God who made it work. Things are more comfortable now, but that doesn’t mean I stop working at being my best just because I am “comfortable”. Because that’s when evil slips in. He comes like a thief in the night the second you let your guard down.

Maybe you aren’t a parent. But maybe you are a nurse, or a teacher. Do you do your best to care for each patient/student, to relay and document information accurately, teach, and learn as much as you can? I hope so! That means you are doing every aspect of your job to glorify God, no matter your profession. The rule is the same.

So what if you are doing your best but you aren’t happy? What if you don’t feel settled where you are? Do you know what you want to do in the future? If not, I would pray for direction. I would pray God shows you what you are called to. The biggest part of that is the listening part. The part where He answers you. Maybe He has been trying to tell you something for a while but you ignoring it because His plans scare you. Listen up! This isn’t His first rodeo. I think you can make your own mistakes if you don’t ask for guidance and you do things on your own. I also don’t believe that God will open any doors that steer you wrong.

Maybe you’re in a job that isn’t ideal but it pays the bills. Well, you’re probably there for a reason. Maybe it is to learn a new skill, meet new people, or maybe you’re there to learn something completely unexpected. The Lord works in mysterious ways, ya know. Pray for strength, determination and patience. Be thankful for what He’s given you.

So what if you’re doing your job and just trying to get through each day? You spend half the day looking at the clock and giving everything the bare minimum just to get by. I would encourage you to do what you can to glorify God in every aspect. If that means more training, more education or just praying for self-control, do it! What’s stopping you?

Want to know my favorite way to start the day? I’m not saying I do it every day like I should, but there are things that can really make or break my day. If my daughter wakes me up before she’s ready to be up and we start the day with whining, I automatically have less patience all morning. If I get up before my girls and I get in the Word (and have my coffee!) my day is significantly better. On those days I don’t wonder if what I am doing matters. Those thoughts just don’t enter my mind because I have complete peace.

And on another note, I usually leave the Cheerios for a couple of days because there will just be more the next day, or the cats will eat them in the in-between time. That means less cleaning up for me and more play time with my babies. That’s a bonus Mommy tip to make life a little simpler. See? That’s why the fellowship part is still so important, even though our obligation isn’t to man.

So does it matter at all? Steven Curtis Chapman goes on to say this:

Well let me remind you it all matters just as long
As you do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you,
Cause he made you
To do
Every little thing that you do
To bring a smile to His face
And tell the story of grace
With every move that you make
And every little thing you do

Oh oh oh oh, oh oh oh oh, oh oh oh oh…..

2 responses »

  1. Cassi, you have such a strong and beautiful faith. I’m so glad you get to share that with our family, my brother and my sweet little nieces!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The Mother Load of Mommy Affirmation–ha! Get it? | LAUGHTER & LATTES

Leave a Reply

