RSS Feed

Oh, Adelynn

Posted on

I am in the process of cleaning up from lunch. Ava is standing at her high chair and eating food off the seat that I haven’t cleaned up yet. Adelynn comes in and observes “Oh. Ava’s eating leftovers.”
_________________________________________

Adelynn calls corners and arrows “pointers”.
_________________________________________

Adelynn is looking in my makeup drawer. “Mom can I have some of this?” (lipstick)
”You have some of your own lipgloss.” I tell her.
”I know but I just want some of this.”
“Honey, you don’t want that. It’s sticky and dark. Besides, it’s for old people.” I tell her.
”Am I a people?”
_________________________________________

First thing in the morning: “Mom who is coming over today?”
“No one honey.”
”Then where are we going?”
“Nowhere today.”
”Is the mail coming?”
”Yeah it should come.”
”Yippee! I so excited!”
Poor kid that looks at the mail as an exciting event.
_________________________________________

Adelynn tells me her Barbie has superpowers. I ask what they are. “Watch” she says. She uses her Barbie’s feet to turn on the light switch. Oooooh.
_________________________________________

We are on the way to school and get stopped by a train. It’s windy, and we can see the flags out the window flapping in the wind. Adelynn exclaims “Mom! Look they’re dancing! Turn up the music!
_________________________________________

I’m singing “He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands” to Adelynn at bedtime. I sing “He’s got the itty bitty babies in His hands, He’s got the itty bitty babies in His hands…”
Adelynn looks at me. “Do they take turns?”
She can’t imagine all the babies can fit at the same time 🙂
_________________________________________

The girls are playing in the living room together while I am in Ava’s room putting clothes away. Adelynn runs in to ecstatically tell me something. “Mom! Ava has 4 fingers just like I do!” and she counts her fingers (not her thumb). “1 – 2 – 3 – 4! Ava has 4 fingers too!”
_________________________________________

It’s the middle of the night and Adelynn is yelling for me from her room. (This never happens). I go in there and wonder what in the world she needs.
She sleepily asks “Mom where we going in the morning?”
“Honey, what do you need?”
“I just want to ask you where we going in the morning.”
“You got me up to ask me that?”
”I just want to know where we going in the morning.”
“Adelynn, we are not going anywhere tomorrow. We are just staying home.” “Oh. Is the mail coming?”
“Yes. Can I go back to bed now?”
“Yeah. That’s all I wanted to ask you.”
_________________________________________

I am speaking very seriously to Adelynn about disobeying. The last time I did this, she referred to my eyebrows as lumps (which she still does by the way). But this time it was a little different. She was looking straight into my eyes like she was listening but then she said “Mom your eyes are like lemons!” It was so random! I hid a smile behind my hand. Then she continued “You have Mommy lemons!” I lost it. That was the end of that conversation.

5 responses »

  1. jtothe4thpower

    Love it. Mail is exciting for me too…but not enough to wake me up at night.

    Reply
  2. Haha. I think that’s perfectly normal for an adult, Jessica 🙂

    Reply
  3. I heard once that getting the mail is the one “little” thing that people most look forward to in their day. Most of us just don’t express our excitement about it the way she does :). Once again, I had tears in my eyes by the time I got to the end. Thanks for making my day!

    Reply
    • It’s true! We think of it as part of life and even kind of dread it some days. She only knows about the fun things that come in the mail.

      Reply
  4. Vicki Shook

    I always look forward to the mail! There might be something exciting! She must have inherited it:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

