RSS Feed

Oh, Adelynn

Posted on

Adelynn named one of her baby dolls Lua. (Loo – uh). She asked if I liked that name. I told her I thought it was very cute (and original). So then her Grammy comes over and I tell her to tell Grammy her baby’s name. “Kahlua” She proudly states. Well… lets not share that name with everyone.
___________________________________

She leaves her sandwich out for a while after lunch. I ask if she is done with it. “Yeah because it’s like wood now.”
Good point.
___________________________________

It’s 5:30 am. We hear Adelynn’s voice in our bedroom. “Daddy I need a bedtime snack.”
___________________________________

My Mom asks Adelynn where we are going on our vacation. “The field.” She answers. We actually went to Springfield, but she’s pretty hip about it.
___________________________________

We are in the house and Dave is in the garage. Ava gets my car keys and sets off my car alarm. Adelynn doesn’t know that. She yells to the garage “David!”
___________________________________

Adelynn launches into this big story while we are in the car. She talks about her friend who has a big dog. I ask several probing questions, trying to understand what/who she is talking about. I can’t think of any of her friends who have a dog fitting that description. Finally I say to her “Adelynn I don’t know what you’re talking about.” She says “I don’t know what I’m talking about either.”
___________________________________

Adelynn gives Bruce water to drink in the bathroom. (She knows not to do this because he always knocks it over and people slip on the floor.) I see the bowl of water out on the bathroom floor. “Adelynn did you give Bruce water?”
“It was an accident” she claims.
”Adelynn… it was not an accident.”
”Oh. It was a mistake?”
___________________________________

She finds a chocolate chip on the floor (thankfully I know it’s from the day before). I asked her to go throw it in the trash. She goes into the kitchen and comes back. “I need to go wash my hands because they have chocolate on them.” I tell her she might need to wash her mouth too because it also has chocolate on it. “HAHAHAHA!” she laughs.
Stinker.
___________________________________

I give her one of those fruit pouches for a snack in the car. From the backseat she says “Mom I don’t like this pouch, it’s yucky”. I ask her what is wrong with it, thinking it might have gotten warm in the car. “I think it has too many vegetables in it” she states. I checked and it was all made out of fruit Smile
___________________________________

I was brushing Adelynn’s hair while she sat on the bathroom counter. She looked up at me “Mommy when I get bigger I’m going to be a Mommy just like you”.
Be still my soul.
___________________________________

2 responses »

  1. Pam Johnston

    Love all of these! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Fantastic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

