RSS Feed

Our Journey To Simplicity: Part 3 – The Clothing

Posted on

Part of reading these books, was having an actual desire for a changed heart, not just the physical process of moving stuff out.

As I am reading Jen Hatmaker’s book, 7. I have been interested in moving my heart so that the way I live out my life is honoring to God. I see the need to pair down a lot of life’s distractions so I can focus better on what I want to do. Now, my kids still interrupt me every single time I am on the phone or having a conversation in my own home, but I’m not sending them anywhere 🙂

The distractions I am talking about are the ones we have control over. The clutter, the excess, the things that are a part of your life that don’t really need to be there. People have different areas of their lives where things are important, and other areas that don’t cause distraction at all.

The second chapter of 7 talks about Jen’s clothing simplification for a month. I can’t say I followed the same rules she did when I chose to participate in the challenge. I can’t say that I would be ready for the intensity of narrowing down my wardrobe to 7 items for a month like she did. I chose 12. I know that doesn’t sound painful. But when I look at what I wear on a normal day, I have 4 items. Usually a tank, another shirt or sweater, pants and an accessory. So 12, for me, is a sacrifice. 3 day’s worth is not much. For me, that will teach me something. I can learn from that. I can choose to be in prayer about my heart and the way I live my life, anytime I feel bored or ungrateful regarding my clothing options.

I did not choose to include pajamas, underwear, shoes or coats. However, I only wore 2 pairs of shoes and one jacket. Here are my choices:
1. Black leggings
2. Skinny jeans
3. VBS T-shirt
4. Black tank
5. Pink tank
6. Patterned tank
7. Coral sweater
8. Gray sweater
9. Navy/chevron long sleeve shirt
10. Earring/necklace set
11. Earring/necklace set
12. Black/white stripe scarf

IMG_0342

I didn’t include my jewelry – but use your imagination. Imagine wearing 2-3 of these things each day for 21 days!

Here’s the overview of my 3 weeks:

Day 1: I was asked to help do some decor for our stage at church. I knew some of it would involve painting. I don’t have any paint clothes available right now. What are the odds, right? Thankfully, others jumped in to paint and I found other ways to help. Whew!

Day 3: For two days in a row now, I have changed my clothes part way through the day. I don’t have clothes to spare! Get it together, Fall in Kansas!!

Day 5: This morning I knew I would be seeing some of the same people I saw on Day 2. Which was only 3 days ago. And as much as I didn’t want to pick the same clothes I had on before, that was my only choice.  #Firstworldproblems.

Day 7: I washed my clothes for the first time last night. I put my pajamas on and started the washer. I moved my jeans and tshirt to the dryer. The rest had to hang overnight. I did not think of that! I went ahead and just put on my tshirt and jeans this morning. I am so glad I chose the tshirt last minute or I would be wearing wet clothes like Jen! If you do this challenge, I highly recommend that you take dryer items into consideration when making your choices.

Day 8: The song Try by Colbie Caillat came on the radio today. I love the song anyway, but it was excellent to hear during my clothing challenge! Something Jen learned was that no one cared near as much as she thought they would about her clothing. But I am learning that it takes a certain level of confidence in yourself to wear the same items of clothing for a month! So anyway, even if no one is paying attention to what you’re wearing, it still takes confidence to pull it off. And if you don’t feel like you can do it – no one is paying attention anyway! 🙂

Day 9: It’s a sign of true love when none of the laundry is yours (except some under garments) and you wash it, fold it, and put it away anyway!

Day 15: I got to wear my one and only long sleeved shirt today! Because it was actually cool enough! I didn’t wear it at all last week. We are having a strange October…

Day 16: I’m considering implementing something similar in my regular life! (Maybe only 2 weeks at a time because it’s stifling my creativity a bit.) This is truly working for me! I never realized how much my clothes were a distraction, but they are definitely something I put thought into every day.

Day 19: Now it is freezing. I cannot win this weather war.

Day 21: This is my last day of the challenge. I feel like I have gained all I can from doing 3 weeks of this project. I am ready to start the next one!

Thanks for being a part of this journey with me!

Leave a Reply

