RSS Feed

Our Journey to Simplicity: Part 8 – Purging Email & Social Media

Posted on

Today’s post is short and sweet! Something that takes time and causes distraction for me is my inbox.

Emails are not like physical clutter that you are stepping over. But they are distractions to many people. Knowing I have thousands of emails is just one more thing to think about. So I took action! I deleted 2,000+ emails. That felt great! But that wasn’t the root of the problem. They were gone for now, but they were going to keep coming in.

Next, I unsubscribed from many many emails that wanted me to buy things. Sure, they are handy at Christmastime, and I enjoy seeing many of them, but they suck my time and my money! I still get the Zulily emails though. I’m not crazy. 🙂

In addition to emails, social media can be a waste of time. Yeah, everyone likes funny cat videos and keeping up with their friends, but if your Facebook newsfeed is like mine, you barely have time to read what you want to read by the time you filter through everything else! To fix that, I went through all of my “likes” and unliked 500 pages! This has helped me see more of what I wanted to see from my friends. I still only probably see about 1/3 of everything my friends post, but time spent on there is my own choice 🙂

So that’s my encouragement for today! Use the rest of your computer time today to purge those emails and Social Media accounts! It will minimize your computer time spent in the future! Don’t forget to get to the root of the issue. Unsubscribe and Unlike away!

Leave a Reply

