RSS Feed

Oh, Adelynn. Oh, Ava.

Posted on

I notice Ava has a cut on her arm. “What happened to your arm?” I ask.
She looks at her arm, gets a serious look on her face and looks to me for sympathy with her big, bright eyes.
”Snake bite.”
______________________________________

Ava tells me this long and involved story with huge animations, that I do not understand much of. So I’m looking at her and listening.
She says “Watch me!” So I watched as she dramatically and intentionally pushes out a giant fart. Then she laughs hysterically!
What do I do with this girl?!
______________________________________

A truck pulled out in front of me while driving and I sighed.
“What?” Adelynn asked.
”Oh, a truck just pulled out in front of me. He should have waited his turn, but he must have been in a hurry.”
“Maybe his daughter had to go to the bathroom.” Adelynn suggests.
______________________________________

Ava is protesting the thunder because she doesn’t like it.
Then she tells me “I want outside to be happy.”
Oh, Ava. I love 2 year old logic.
______________________________________

First thing in the morning I pull Ava’s nightgown off over her head.
“You take my lipstick off!” She declares after the neckline smooshed up against her lips.
She’s so fancy she wears lipstick to bed!
______________________________________

I poured too much cereal into Ava’s bowl.
I start to pour it back into the box.
“Just kidding!” Ava says.
______________________________________

I’m taking the girls to my parent’s house.
“What are you going to do while we are at Grammy’s?” Adelynn asks.
“I am going to clean the house!” I say.
“We sure make some terrible messes….” She says. 🙂

Then she gets home.
”Wow, mom! You made it shine in here!”
There’s no better compliment!
______________________________________

Ava measures my head with a cloth measuring tape.
“50 minutes!” She states.
______________________________________

I ask Ava if she wants muffins for breakfast.
“I hate muffins.” she tells me.
I don’t know where she learned that word! And she had a muffin for breakfast the day before!
______________________________________

Adelynn gets big-eyed and serious.
“Mom. I have to tell you something important about the sky.”
”Okay, what’s that?” I ask.
With big eyes still, she says, ”It has not rained for a long time.”

One response »

  1. Love it! Isn’t it the worst when they say “hate”!? It is Jack’s favorite lately :/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

