Daily Archives: 06/01/2012

DIY, No Sew, The cutest curtains EVER!

Posted on

I saw these here and had to make them!

I have been wanting a valance over the kitchen sink for a long time and never got around to finding one. But this was the answer!!

photo (4)

You’re supposed to make this using scraps you have laying around, but I didn’t really have any that matched. So I went to Hobby Lobby. I have never had more people ask me what I was doing with the fabric I chose. I got 9 bolts of 1/3 yard each. I cut them in approximately 2.5 inch strips and laid them out in order. I got about 5-6 per bolt. The bolts are about 44 inches, which was perfect for my 38 inch window!photo (19)

I had plenty left over, if you’re doing this like I did –going to the store- 7 bolts would be plenty. I also made mine thicker than Jillee. It just depends on the look you want to create!

The curtain rod I had was a tension rod, but any will do. You simply fold your strips in half and loop them through around the rod.

This picture was taken part way through the process. photo (21)

Good luck with your projects this weekend!!photo (3)

UPDATE: I have changed my kitchen colors and stuck with the same plan! Gray, coral and yellow!

IMG_3369